Learn to Surf - LearnLocal.com

SBIFF to bestow Ben Affleck with Modern Master Award

November 12, 2012 by Ben Hyatt

Santa Barbara, CA- The Santa Barbara International Film Festival, presented by lynda.com, will honor director, producer and actor Ben Affleck with the Modern Master Award at the 28th edition of the Fest, which runs January 24 -February 3, 2013, it was announced today by SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling.  The Tribute will take place on Saturday, January 26, 2013 at the historic Arlington Theatre.
“Affleck has come into his own as a multi-dimensional artist with ARGO,” commented SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling.   “He embodies what the Modern Master Award is all about, and we're thrilled to honor him this year."
The Modern Master Award is the highest honor presented by SBIFF.  Established in 1995, it was created to honor an individual who has enriched our culture through his/her multi-faceted accomplishments in the motion picture industry.  Affleck joins an illustrious group of past recipients including Michael Douglas, Jodie Foster, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Diane Keaton, Sean Penn, Jeff Bridges, Peter Jackson, George Clooney, Will Smith, Cate Blanchett, Clint Eastwood, James Cameron, Christopher Nolan, and Christopher Plummer.  
Affleck will be honored for his work this year as the director, star and producer of the critically acclaimed film Argo. He has proven to be a master of his craft with Argo, receiving acclaim from both critics and audiences.  Skillfully capturing the tension brought upon by the subject matter, Affleck uses the film’s pacing and tone to enhance it to its greatest potential. Based on true events, the film chronicles the life-or-death covert operation to rescue six Americans, which unfolded behind the scenes of the 1979 Iran hostage crisis.  The film stars Affleck, Bryan Cranston, Alan Arkin, John Goodman, Victor Garber, Tate Donovan, Clea DuVall, Scoot McNairy, Rory Cochrane, Christopher Denham, Kerry Bishé, Kyle Chandler and Chris Messina.  Based on a screenplay by Chris Terrio, the film is produced by Grant Heslov, Affleck and George Clooney.
Driven to act from a young age, Ben Affleck began by taking on small roles and independent films including Dazed and Confused (1993), Mallrats (1995), and Chasing Amy (1997). It was later in 1997 that he broke through to critical acclaim with Good Will Hunting, which he co-wrote and starred in alongside Matt Damon. His work won him the Academy Award® for Best Original Screenplay.  Following this success, Affleck proceeded to take on a variety of roles in such hit films Armageddon (1998), Shakespeare in Love (1998), and Dogma (1999). In addition to flexing his comedy and romance muscles, Affleck also showed his grittier side in such films as Reindeer Games (2000), Pearl Harbor (2001), The Sum of All Fears (2002), Daredevil (2003) and Hollywoodland (2006).  In 2007, Affleck stepped behind the camera to make his feature film directorial debut with the film Gone Baby Gone, which he also wrote. After acting in several films such as State of Play (2009) and The Company Men (2010), Affleck returned to directing with the critically acclaimed The Town (2010).
The festivities will take place at the historic Arlington Theatre on Saturday, January 26, 2013.  Tickets for the Modern Master Award are available now and can be purchased through www.sbfilmfestival.org or by calling 805-963-0023. Festival Passes and Packages are still available and sold exclusively at www.sbfilmfestival.org and 805-963-0023.

Related Articles

Santa Barbara International Film Festival Documentary Selection - Musicwood

SantaBarbarians had the opportunity to sit down with Maxine Trump, director of the documentary Musicwood which had its west coast premiere at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival on January 25th.... more »

Storm Surfers 3D US Premiere at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival

RADIOMAN director Mary Kerr and Radioman himself interview and photos at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival

We had the opportunity to speak with RADIOMAN director Mary Kerr and Radioman himself on the red carpet! Check out our interview and gallery!... more »

2013 SBIFF Director's Panel Announced

2013 the Santa Barbara International Film Festival announced a stellar line-up of top directors will participate in this Saturday Panel.... more »

SBIFF Announces Writer's Panel participants for Saturday's event

SBIFF’s It Starts With The Script panel features top writers who “lift the lid” on screenwriting and their journey to the big screen. Moderated by IndieWIRE’s Anne Thompson, this ever-popular panel features: Mark Boal (Zero Dark Thirty), Stephen Chbosky (The Perks of Being A Wallflower), Roman Coppola, (Moonrise Kingdom), John Gatins (Flight), Rian Johnson (Looper) and David Magee (Life of Pi).... more »

Santa Barbara International Film Festival Opening Night with Henry-Alex Rubin's "Disconnect"

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival opened tonight with the US premiere of Henry-Alex Rubin's "Disconnect". A sold out Arlington Theatre played host to the film and red carpet event.... more »

Quentin Tarantino to be honored with the American Reviera Award at SBIFF

Tarantino will be honored on Wednesday, January 30 at the Arlington Theatre. Quentin Tarantino is honored to accept the award as Leo DiCaprio regrettably had scheduling conflicts and cannot attend the previous announced event scheduled for February 1.... more »

Daniel Day-Lewis to Receive Montecito Award at SBIFF

Actor Daniel Day-Lewis with the prestigious Montecito Award at the 28th edition of the Festival on behalf of his inspirational performance in the title role of Lincoln, and as a celebration of his overall career.... more »

Jennifer Lawrence to receive Outstanding Performer of the Year Award at SBIFF

The Santa Barbara International Film Festiva announced today that Academy Award® nominated actress Jennifer Lawrence will be presented with the Outstanding Performer of the Year Award at the 28th edition of the festival.... more »

Robert De Niro chosen to receive SBIFF award

Director, producer and Academy Award-winning actor ROBERT DE NIRO has been chosen to receive The Santa Barbara International Film Festival's seventh annual KIRK DOUGLAS AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN FILM at a black-tie Gala dinner at Bacara Resort & Spa in Santa Barbara on Saturday, December 8, 2012. ... more »

2012 Santa Barbara International Film Festival

The Stars turned out to launch the 27th edition of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival at the Arlington Theater. The opening night gala... more »

2011 Santa Barbara International Film Festival

The 26th annual edition of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival gets underway January 27th and runs through February 6th. SantaBarbarians will be on hand to cover the event.... more »